WoW Expansions in Order

World of Warcraft is a massively multiplayer game with a large history. Last year it was 15 years since it released in NA and this year we celebrated 15 years of WoW in the EU. The game was so beloved by the players that Blizzard released separate servers with Classic, so-called Vanilla. The Classic has become so popular that every new start of the phase turns into a grand event, such as the upcoming Opening of the Gates of Ahn’Qiraj. But over these 15 years, Blizzard can boast of not only restarting Vanilla, because every couple of years new expansions were added to the game. Today we’d like to remember all WoW expansions in order and shares some new about Shadowlands release date.

World of Warcraft was released November 23, 2004, in North America and Australia, and February 11, 2005, in Europe. The first release of the game, we do not consider expansion, so we mention it separately. The inspiration for this MMO was the game Warcraft (real-time strategy game), whose lore became the main storyline.

World of Warcraft Expansions in Order

Next, we present a list of 8 WoW expansions in order they released.

The Burning Crusade – 2007

The Burning Crusade

So-called BC or the Burning Crusade is the first WoW expansion. It was released worldwide in January 2007. The major implementations that have been added are flying mounts (but only in Outland) and two new races Blood Elves and Draenei. Also, these races made it possible to play all classes within one fraction. In WoW classic only Horde had shamans and only Alliance had paladins. In Burning Crusade Blood Elves have been added to the Horde and they could be paladins. The same situation with Draenei, who have been added to the Alliance and could be shamans. In addition, a new profession has appeared – jewelcrafting. Also, raids have become more complicated and picturesque. And Arena has been added, which opened the possibility to show off your PvP skills even on tournaments. The level cap raised to 70 levels.

Wrath of the Lich King – 2008

Wrath of the Lich King

One of the most famous WoW expansions of all times. Wrath of the Lich King released in November 2008. And since then every MMO lover knows about the story of Arthas even if he has neven played WoW before. And the awesome thing is that upcoming Shadowlands is connected to the Ice Throne as well. As for the new in-game features. A new continent Northrend has been added, as well as new raids and dungeons, and Wintergrasp the first PvP zone. Some of the raid rewards are still relevant and desirable. For example, Invincible the Lich King’s stag. Also, players could fly in Outland and Northend, which made the levelling easier. The most useful quality of life feature is LFG (looking for group) queue. So players could find a group for a dungeon easily. Moreover, a new class Death Knight has been added. Any race could be a DK, they started with mounts and from the higher level. Also, there was a new profession – inscription. The level cap raised to 80 levels.

Cataclysm – 2010


After the logical conclusion of the lore presented in Warcraft, Blizzard presented us with a new development branch in the game. Cataclysm released in December 2010. All zones from Classic has been changed due to Cataclysm. Also, new zones appeared such as Mount Hyjal, as well as a new PvP zone Tol Barad. Two new races have been added: Worgen (for Alliance) and Goblins (for Horde). But starting from Cataclysm flying in Kalimdor and the Eastern Kingdoms has opened (but not in Draenei and Blood Elves starting zones). The new secondary profession – archaeology and reforging option. As for the quality of life, LFR (looking for raid) has been added. The level cap raised to 85 levels.

Mists of Pandaria – 2012

Mists of Pandaria

The most unexpected but fun and atmospheric expansion. Mists of Pandaria released in September 2012. There’s been a lot of new features added into the game. First of all, the new continent Pandaria, new race Pandaren and new class Monk. Moreover, Pandaren is a race that any fraction can play it. Also, new mini-dungeons so-called Scenarios have been added. It is a specific zone for three people. And new battle pet system, which is still very popular with the players in retail World of Warcraft. Mists of Pandaria raised the level cap to 90 levels and implemented tones of new beautiful content.

Warlords of Draenor – 2014

Warlords of Draenor

Another branch of restarting the Warcraft universe. Moreover, the release of this add-on coincided with the release of the film, which positively affected the popularity of the game. So Warlords of Draenor released in November 2014. A brilliant new approach with time travel to the game has been added. It reflected in such new features as Garrison (a separate zone that you can develop and upgrade). This system entailed a host of new implementations, such as collecting resources and launching new scenarios. But in addition, the whole game go graphics update! Arena Skirmishes with no rating casual arena mode and Ashran PvP zone made WoW even better. The level cap raised to 100 levels.

Legion – 2016


The second round after time travel led us to Illidan and his fascinating story. Legion released in August 2016. A lot of new things has been added to the game. For example, new class Daemon Hunters inspired the game. New continent Broken Isles with brand new quests and reward system. Class hall and artifact weapons made World of Warcraft more fulfilled. Also, there was a new PvP system. Where you could exchange your honour points on new abilities, on the other hand, PvP gear becomes a reward and you don’t need to buy it for honour points. The last patch in Legion opened a pre-quest line to open new races in BFA. The level cap raised to 110 levels.

Battle for Azeroth – 2018

Battle for Azeroth

The current expansion at the moment, but is already preparing for its logical conclusion. Battle for Azeroth released in August 2018. First of all, new allied races have been added. Some of them you could unlock in Legion – Nightborne, Highmountain Tauren for Horde and Void Elf, Lightforged Draenei for Alliance. But even though you could unlock them in Legion, these new races became playable only in BFA. Later there has been added other questlines to open other allied races – Zandalari, Mag’har Orc, Vulpera for Horde and Dark Iron Dwarf, Kul Tiran Human, Mechagnome for Alliance. But that’s not all. BFA has introduced two new continents – Zandalar and Kul Tiras with a new approach to world PvP (Warcampain). Artifact expedition and Azerite powers that empower your champion has become a unique gameplay feature. And in later patches introduce corruption that brings a new breath to your champion gear as you need to find the way to take this corruption under control. The level cap raised to 120 levels.

Shadowlands – 2020


Expected by everyone new expansion in WoW. It is confirmed that Shadowlands releases on 26 October 2020. The main awaited feature is a new dimension with new zones, covenants (Kyrian, Necrolords, Night Fae, and Venthyr) and their influence on your character abilities. The new races are going to be introduced later, but it is known that new zones will have raids and dungeons. You will experience new reputation farm experience and meet new unknown worlds and even passed aways champions of Azeroth. But among all a new levelling system awaits together with the forge of domination, where you can craft legendary artifacts for your character. The level cap decreased to 60 levels.

More about this game button

  1. Tamiflu

    Awesome! Wow that is so close to launch well, I ended up buying the essential edition, tuscany and the moore expansion!!! I love everything about your game so far and can t wait to play! Thank you for the response and good luck with all your future endeavors, you guys rock!

Leave a Comment

Watch our authors’ Streams